Valerie Anne Hudson

Award-winning historical fiction writer

Welcome to the Madhouse (Maids of Maddington Series)

Recipient of the Literary Titan’s Book Award;  2022 Speak Up Talk Radio Firebird Book Award;  2022 Bookfest Award; 2022 Pencraft Book Award.

London, 1895.
A pretty housemaid falls in love with a heartless upper-class young man, starting a chain of events leading to a scandal and a trial that the whole of England watches with bated breath.

Read More

Love, Lies, and Betrayal (Maids of Maddington Book 2)

In Book 2 of the Maids of Maddington series, we enter the elegant world of Edwardian London, 1905.


A world of hidden desires, dark secrets, and deadly intrigue.


With startling glimpses into the London underworld, the desperate struggle for women’s rights, and the plight of the poor … ‘Love, Lies, and Betrayal’ is a story of survival. 

A story about love, loyalty, and courage.

Read More

A Twist of Fate (Maids of Maddington Book 3)

The third and final episode in the Maddington series. Skipping forward to 1912, we follow the lives of old servants and new as their lives inadvertently intertwine with those of the wealthy Montagues.
Read More

The Marquis' Daughters: In the Shadow of the Guillotine

For teen / YA readers 13 +

In the time of the French Revolution, the daughter of an aristocrat inadvertently switches places with her lady's maid, who unbeknownst to her is her illegitimate half-sister.  The story follows the separate paths of the two girls as they struggle to survive in the violent and unpredictable world of the Revolution, both in fear of the ever-present threat of the guillotine.

Read More

Runaway Princess

For Young Adults 13+

Princess Louise-Marie feels trapped in the Royal Palace, with a father who loves death sentences, and a mother who worships her hairdresser. As she struggles to step out of her identity as Princess, her life is turned topsy-turvy. Caught in the politics of inheriting the throne, Louise is faced with several questions. Was somebody plotting to kill her brother, the future King? Why were the commoners on the street begging for bread? Would she always be stuck within these walls, being a ‘good girl’?

Read More

Mariposa Mysteries Trilogy

For middle-school readers 9 - 13

The Trilogy consists of three stories: Watch What You Wish For
, Magic and Mischief in Mariposa and The Wizard Wannabe

A trilogy of fast-paced coming-of-age adventure stories, full of magic and strange paranormal events. With unforgettable scenes, inspired characters, and fun storylines, Mariposa Mysteries provides a wonderfully entertaining fantasy read for kids of all ages!

Read More

My Friend The Giraffe

This short read-aloud is perfect for children aged 2 to 5. It tells the story of 5-year-old Oliver who's going through some difficult adjustments with a new baby sister at home.On a trip to the zoo with his class, Oliver makes an extraordinary new friend, Jesse the Giraffe. Jesse takes Oliver and his friend Noah on an amazing African adventure, and as a result, Oliver starts to realize the value of family and of being a big brother.
Read More

Watch What You Wish For

Book One of the Mariposa Mystery Series

When three seventh-graders discover a Wishing Tree, they accidentally unleash its evil powers and the once thriving town of Mariposa becomes a shadow of its former self. As people go missing and lives are turned upside down, our unforgettable heroes are desperate to get things back to the way they were, while unknowingly on a journey of self-discovery.

Read More

Magic and Mischief in Mariposa
SKU: 979-8704274124

Book Two of the Mariposa Mystery Series

Reconnect with Merlin, Sophie and friends as they battle an ancient evil spirit that seeks revenge on the town of Mariposa!

Read More

The Wizard Wannabe

Book Three of the Mariposa Mystery Series

Fourteen-year-old Merle was born with real magical powers and has practiced the art of magic for almost his entire life. As his powers grow, Merle comes to believe that he is destined to become a great wizard. His love of magic turns to an obsession, his friends turn away from him, and an evil entity starts to control his thoughts.
Read More

Not My War

In the face of adversity, Louise Bellingham is determined to live life on her own terms. But when war comes knocking on her door, she's forced to make difficult decisions—ones that challenge her loyalty, values, and morality. As she navigates the treacherous landscape of Nazi-occupied Paris, Louise finds herself swept off her feet by Hans, a charmingly handsome Nazi officer who provides her with all the glamor and excitement she's been craving. Yet, as Louise gets closer to Hans, she witnesses his acts of cruelty, and can’t help but begin to question his integrity.

Read More